San Ramon: Sara Lashanlo, member of the Innovation-Technology committee, makes an offer for District 2 of the city council | New

Sara Lashanlo — a finalist in the nomination process for the District 2 City Council seat that ultimately went to Mark Armstrong in 2021 — launched an election campaign to win a full term at the seat in November.

“I’m running because I’m inspired by the safe, diverse, and compassionate city that is San Ramon, and the climate-conscious, growing equitable, modern city that we can be,” Lashanlo said on his campaign website.

Lashanlo was among the finalists selected from a pool of 15 candidates seeking nomination for the District 2 seat in 2021, when he was released during the election of then-council member Dave Hudson as mayor.

Currently a member of the city’s Innovation and Technology Advisory Committee, Lashanlo began working with the city as a recreation manager with the parks department during her summers as a student at California High School, whose she graduated in 2013. She currently works at a medical device startup, having earned a degree in mechanical engineering from California Polytechnic State University.

“I knew San Ramon as a student, attending the local high school, frequenting parks and restaurants, and working as a recreation manager for Camp Central,” Lashanlo said on her campaign page. “I also experienced San Ramon as a different member of the community: a working professional, a commuter, a library enthusiast, a nature lover, a grocery shopper, a patron of the center -town.”

Lashanlo operates on a platform that emphasizes climate action, technology and innovation, community safety, and conscious growth. She also highlights local democracy as a priority and supports consideration of elective voting, term limits for council members, and better education about local government and elections.

“A healthy democracy means empowered individuals, elected representatives who put their constituents first over their own interests, and consistent access to education and opportunity,” Lashanlo said.

So far, Lashanlo is the only challenger to file for District 2, with Armstrong also launching a re-election bid for the seat. The deadline to submit an application is this Friday (August 12) at 5 p.m.

Hudson, who was elected at-large to the council in 2018, had his position effectively assigned to District 2 during the city’s constituency process. After city voters elevated Hudson to mayor in 2020 midway through his time on council, Armstrong was then nominated by then-serving council members to serve until 2022 representing District 2. .

Although ultimately not selected for the seat last year, Lashanlo said: “It was a fantastic experience and only propelled me deeper into grassroots endeavours.”

More information about Lashanlo’s campaign is available at

About Stephen Ewing

Check Also

London FXJSC Legal Sub-Committee Meeting Minutes – June 8, 2022

Minutes Meeting date: June 8, 2022Time: 3:00 p.m. – 4:30 p.m. | Location: Video meeting …