Norton Elects Two New Board Members and One New School Committee Member | Local News

NORTON — Kevin Snyder and Steven Hornsby were elected to the select council, and incumbents Sheri Cohen and Nicholas Schleicher won school committee seats in Saturday’s annual municipal elections.

Snyder was the top vote-getter in the race for two three-year seats on the board, with 707 votes, and Hornsby got 542 votes. The third candidate on the ballot, Robert Welsh, received 511 votes.

Hornsby is a member of the planning board and Snyder sits on the finance committee. Hornsby, who had served on the planning board for five years and chaired it for two years, resigned from that board because the city charter prohibited residents from serving on two elected boards.

“I’m just thrilled to help out the city,” Hornsby said, noting he’s overseen capital projects. “I look forward to helping the city in any way I can.”

Cody Thompson, a member of the Economic Development Commission, launched an election campaign for a select council, but with 429 written votes for a select council not available, there was no chance he would be elected.

The two selected board members whose seats were about to expire, board chairman Jack Conway and Renee Deley, did not stand for a second term. Deley applied for the school board but was unsuccessful.

“Obviously I’m very excited. I think it validates the direction we want the city to go,” Snyder said. “I want to continue the great work that Jack and Renee have done, and I look forward to working with Steve.”

In the contest for two three-year school committee seats, Cohen won his third term with 715 votes and Schleicher had 754 votes. Deley came third with 607 votes.

Cohen chaired the school committee and Schleicher has extensive experience in recreation.

Cohen said she plans to see the new high school sports complex come to fruition and focus on addressing mental health issues for students emerging from the pandemic.

Kathleen Stern’s school board seat was also expiring, but she did not seek another term.

Only 1,317, or just under 10% of the city’s 13,722 registered voters voted at the Norton Middle School polling place.

City Clerk Lucia Longhurst had hoped to see around 3,000 voters, or just over 20% people.

The election had been among the most heated in recent years, with controversy erupting on social media.

Thompson said he decided to launch his campaign late after some board candidates balked at debating and he grew discouraged by the ensuing political atmosphere.

For the water and sewer commission, Steven Bernstein was the only candidate for a one-year slot and incumbent Steven Bishop had no opposition for a three-year term.

For the Housing Authority, Member Paul Ruozzi was elected for a three-year term and Member James Dinsel for a five-year term.

Incumbent Charles Reynolds pulled out the nomination papers for a two-year term but did not return them, and the seat can be filled by a written candidate.

No one has come out with nominations for three seats on the three-year planning board or one- and three-year terms on the review board, and those offices can also be filled in writing.

One of the seats on the planning board is vacant, the other two were filled by Vice President Julie Oakley and Kevin O’Neil. One of the assessor seats is vacant, the other occupied by Carolann McCarron.

About Stephen Ewing

Check Also

London FXJSC Legal Sub-Committee Meeting Minutes – June 8, 2022

Minutes Meeting date: June 8, 2022Time: 3:00 p.m. – 4:30 p.m. | Location: Video meeting …