Incumbent mayor and committee member win general election seats to stay on Hopewell Township committee

Democratic Mayor Courtney Peters-Manning and committee member David Chait regain their places on the township committee after defeating their Republican opponents in the general election.

Peters-Manning and Chait were each given three-year terms on the township committee.

They faced Republican candidates, Jennifer DiDonato and Daniel Hanley Jr. in the Nov. 8 general election.

As of November 21, Peters-Manning had received 2,666 votes, Chait would follow with 2,595 votes.

DiDonato got 813 votes and Hanley 787 votes.

In a joint message, Peters-Manning and Chait thanked the residents of Hopewell Township for their vote and DiDonato and Hanley for their candidacy and service to the Hopewell Township community.

“It has been an honor to serve on the Township Committee and to work for the people of Hopewell Township. We appreciate the opportunity to continue serving and are more committed than ever to all residents of Hopewell Township,” Peters-Manning and Chait wrote.

They further stated, “We care deeply about your concerns and are committed to always listening, learning and advocating for the needs of residents, whether you voted for us or not. With this, we encourage residents to let us know of any questions, concerns, or anything we can do to help. »

Peter Manning got his second three-year term on the township committee. She was first elected in 2019.

Peters-Manning is currently mayor in 2022 and liaison with police and public safety and the deer management advisory committee.

cat earns his first full three-year term on the township committee. He was appointed to his current seat in January, replacing Kristin McLaughlin, who left the post after winning a seat on the Mercer County Board of Commissioners.

He liaises with public works, communications, economic development and the affordable housing committee.

The Hopewell Township Committee maintains a 5-0 Democratic majority on the five-member governing body when Peters-Manning and Chait are sworn in for their terms in January 2023.

The governing body is made up of Peters-Manning, Deputy Mayor Michael Ruger, committee member Kevin Kuchinski, Chait and committee member Uma Purandare.

About Stephen Ewing

Check Also

Governor Hutchinson Presents Final Balanced Budget to Joint Budget Committee: Arkansas, Asa Hutchinson, Governor

For immediate release 11.10.2022 Governor Hutchinson Presents Final Balanced Budget to Joint Budget Committee LITTLE …